Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an active member who demonstrates outstanding support through significant contributions to the American Association of Nurse Life Care Planners (AANLCP®). The Executive Board is responsible for the coordination of the nomination, application, selection, and the notification process related to the awarding of the Distinguished Service Award.


  • Must be an active member of AANLCP for at least two years.
  • Promotes the role of nurse life care planning.
  • Supports the association regularly and consistently.

Selection Criteria

Candidates must show evidence of outstanding contributions to the
field of nurse life care planning including, but not limited to, the
following areas:

    • Conducting research or developing projects that have contributed to improvement in the field of nurse life care planning.
    • Authoring books, articles or other communication that have significant implications.
    • Providing leadership through active participation in AANLCP and other organizations at the local, state, national or international level.
    • Representing AANLCP and the field of practice in other professional organizations.
    • Promoting professional development activities to expand the expertise and career direction of members.
    • Contributing to the profession and the mission of AANLCP.

Review of Nominations

  • The Executive Board, with participation from the Management Company and the prior year awardee, may nominate someone
    meeting the established criteria.
  • Nominations are to be submitted to AANLCP using the Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form.
  • Call for nominations on August 1st.
  • Form must be submitted by January 1st. Self nominations will not be accepted.
  • The selection process will be incorporated into the Strategic Planning meeting.

Award Presentation

  • The announcement of the scholarship recipient will occur at the AANLCP Annual Educational Conference by the President of the association.
  • The recipient will be recognized and receive a crystal award by the previous year’s award winner.


  • The Distinguished Service Award need not be awarded each year.

Distinguished Service Award Nomination Form